National Occupational Standards

There are five suites of National Occupational Standards (NOS) that have been designed specifically for port roles. PSS is the developer and custodian of these NOS written in consultation with employers and stakeholders across Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and England.

National Occupational Standards (NOS) are statements of the standards of performance individuals must achieve when carrying out functions in the workplace, together with specifications of the underpinning knowledge and understanding.

Skills development scotland

The NOS are grouped into suites relating to the sector and role they belong to.

The five NOS below are free to download and can be used across the UK for developing skills and knowledge. Examples of their use include the creation of:

  • Vocational and other qualifications.
  • Job descriptions.
  • Measuring workplace competence.
  • Training plans.
  • Course materials.