Apprenticeship Standards

PSS works with its members, stakeholders and the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (IfATE) to develop and update port-specific apprenticeship standards.

There are currently four standards that PSS has been involved in developing.

  • Port Operative
  • Port Marine Operations Officer
  • Marine Pilot
  • Harbour Master

IfATE is the regulating authority for apprenticeships standards in England.

Apprenticeship standards describe the occupational profile linked to the knowledge, skills and behaviours that bring full competence in a particular occupation. They describe how an employee can demonstrate mastery of this occupation by the end of the apprenticeship. The standard itself is a short, concise document containing a clear occupational profile setting out the responsibilities of the occupation and linked to the knowledge, skills and behaviours which will be applied in the workplace.

The standards are delivered including a mix of learning in the workplace, formal off-the-job training and the opportunity to practise new skills in the workplace.

There are over 650 apprenticeship standards approved for delivery.


External links